It’s one of my favorite two weeks of the year, the US Open of tennis (not golf, Google, golf is never what I want). Last year I was fortunate enough to go to Flushing Meadows, this year I’ll have to settle for watching at home.

Unfortunately, it’s an injury riddled draw on the ATP side but I’m excited to see Federer going for a 20th major. There are also 19 American men in the draw, the most since 2008.

I made a quick graph of player rankings in all first round match-ups (ATP rankings found here http://live-tennis.eu/en/atp-live-ranking). The X-axis is the rank of the higher ranked player and the Y-axis is the rank of the lower ranked player. A few young Americans have the opportunity for a historic upset (Thai-Son Kwiatkowski and Patrick Kypson). Will the US Open have its own Marcus Willis story? Here is a zoomed in version of the graph with a few more standout match-ups:

ATPFirstRoundZoomed

Other first round match-ups I’m looking forward to: Roger Federer-Francis Tiafoe, Sam Querrey-Gilles Simon, Kyle Edmund-Robin Haase, and from the WTA side Simona Halep facing Maria Sharapova in her grand slam return.

Now if you’ll excuse me for two weeks…

